What’s New?

Sherman Peak from the north.

November 5, 2018. Super Contributor, Livingston Douglas, climbed 107 peaks in southeast Idaho in August and September. He has provided valuable access updates and route information for each of his ascents. This “What’s New” entry covers his climbs in the impressive Bear River Range. Road and trail access in the range has changed significantly since the book was published—in some cases. Livingston’s detailed updates will help you navigate the range.

Peak 8616, https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/peak-8616-by-livingston-douglas/

Peak 9054, https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/peak-9054-by-livingston-douglas/

Peak 8970 (North Nyman Peak), https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/peak-8970-north-nyman-peak-by-livingston-douglas/

Peak 9331 (South Nyman Peak), https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/peak-9331-south-nyman-peak-by-livingston-douglas/

Peak 8990, https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/peak-8990-by-livingston-douglas/

Peak 9260 (White Boss Peak),  https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/peak-9260-white-boss-peak-by-livingston-douglas/

Peak 9237 (Hidden Lake Peak), https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/peak-9237-hidden-lake-peak-by-livingston-douglas/

Peak 9162 (Corral Hollow Peak),  https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/peak-9162-corral-hollow-peak-by-livingston-douglas/

Paris Peak, https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/paris-peak/

Peak 9270 (North Paris Peak), https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/peak-9270-north-paris-peak/

Peak 9245 (Saint Charles Peak), https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/peak-9245-saint-charles-peak-by-livingston-douglas/

Peak 9276 (Worm Lake Peak),  https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/peak-9276-worm-lake-peak-by-livingston-douglas/

Bloomington Peak, https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/bloomington-peak/

Peak 8852 (Castletop Peak), https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/peak-8852-castletop-peak/

Cub Peak,  https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/cub-peak/

Peak 9484, (Felt Hat aka Franklin County HP) https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/franklin-county-highpoint-felt-hat/

Peak 8549 (Triple Top Peak),  https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/peak-8549-triple-top-peak-by-livingston-douglas/

Soda Peak, https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/soda-peak-by-livingston-douglas/

Peak 9283 (Paris Green Peak), https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/peak-9283-paris-green-peak-by-livingston-douglas/

Sherman Peak, https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/sherman-peak/

Peak 9212 (South Sherman Peak), https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/peak-9212-by-livingston-douglas/

Peak 8666 (North Wilson Peak),  https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/peak-8666-north-wilson-peak-by-livingston-douglas/

Peak 7233 (Eightmile Peak), https://www.idahoaclimbingguide.com/bookupdates/peak-7233-eightmile-peak-by-livingston-douglas/

October 10, 2018. Margo and I continue to add peaks to the website. There are now over 1,400 peak updates and/or new peaks. Perhaps the most exciting new additons relate to John Platt and John Fadgen’s recent completion of the six difficult peaks on Hum Ridge in the Lick Creek Range. It is likely that they made the first ascents of five of the six peaks. Start following their exploits with Humdinger and then work east on the ridge reading about Hum Peak, Ho Peak, Hum #3, Hum #4 and finally Hum #5.

Finally, we have updated the mapping feature on the website to provide better maps and include a feature that will show public and private land so you can avoid trespassing on your way to a summit. The photos below explain how the maps work.

At the bottom of each peak page is an orientation map. Under each orientation map is a link to a Caltop map. Click on the link.

At the bottom of each peak page is an orientation map. Under each orientation map is a link to a Caltop map. Click on the link.

The link will take you to a Caltopo map with peak centered. In the upper right hand corner is the layer symbol which will take you to a new page with a drop down box.

The link will take you to a Caltopo map with peak centered. In the upper right hand corner is the layer symbol which will take you to a new page with a drop down box.

The base layer is a USGS quad but by using the drop down box you can select other maps including Forest Service Topos and satellite photos.

The base layer is a USGS quad but by using the drop down box you can select other maps including Forest Service Topos and satellite photos.

Finally, below the drop box on the layer page there are other options you can add to your map. The land management layer is perhaps the most important as it will add a layer showing you public and private land.

Finally, below the drop box on the layer page there are other options you can add to your map. The land management layer is perhaps the most important as it will add a layer showing you public and private land.

August 26, 2018. Idaho’s Mountaineering History is covered in the book on pages 12 to 26. The history discussion was based on many sources inluding interviews, register entries, magazine articles and newspaper articles. Recently, I scanned two of the source articles from the Idaho Statesman, a 1935 article by Robert Fulton and a 1948 article by Jack Anderson. Read these interesting articles at the following links:

A Trip to the Top of Idaho

1948 Idaho Statesman Article: Here’s a Club for You to Join But It’s A Rough Organization

Technical climbers can now learn about the Pins and Needles Climbing area thanks to the contribution of the guide made possible by Doug Colwell. Learn about the multitude of technical climbing opportunities at the following link:

Pins and Needles Climbing Guide by Oly Klosof

For those entertaining climbing Idaho’s 11,000 foot peaks, the Brocky Peak page has been completely revised. Brocky is a difficult peak by any measurement.

The northwest Gully Route. John Platt Photo

The northwest Gully Route. John Platt Photo

July 11, 2018. For orientation purposes, I am updating the massive Salmon River Mountains by adding all of the sections contained in the book. From the side bar or the Mountain Ranges page you can create lists for Salmon River peaks contained in each of the sections shown below.

Elsewhere, Erik Pohlmann has become the first person to climb all of the peaks found in the Danskin Mountains. Erik has been adding route write ups for his climbs. Search for Erik Pohlman and you will be able to read all of Erik’s contributions.

Read about fire lookouts on the Boise National Forest: Boise National Forest Fire Lookouts 

February 28, 2018. Is it time to start planning your summer adventures? The website now includes over 1,300 updates covering Idaho peaks, climbing routes, and access routes including many that Margo and I added to the website over the winter. As always we are thankful to our contributors who are the moving force behind the website. This entry focuses on Colorado climber Livingston Douglas’ contributions.

Livingston was one of the earliest contributors to this website and made his first contribution over 15 years ago. Over the winter he provided us with access updates and route descriptions for 84 different Idaho peaks that he has climbed since 2009. While his Idaho adventures have focused on Continental Divide peaks, he has also ventured throughout eastern Idaho and climbed many of that area’s most popular peaks.

Livingston’s meticulousness updates constitute a serious upgrade to both the information found in the book and this website. In several instances, the updated access information provides alternative routes around areas closed (since the book was published) by private landowners. I cannot stress enough the value of his in-depth contributions that will make it much easier for you to plan climbs of these peaks.

You can read each of his updates by clicking on the links below.

White Knob Mountains

Shelly MountainWhite Knob Mountain, Wildhorse Peak, Mackay Peak and
Cabin Mountain

Pioneer Mountains

Patterson Peak 8350Copper Basin KnobHoward PeakPeak 11151 (The Ramp)Double U PeakSmiley Mountain, and Peak 10942 (Purgatory Peak)

Beaverhead Mountains

Pyramid Peak 9616, Peak 10042Morgan Mountain, Peak 7911 (Pioneer Creek Peak), Peak 9940 (Rock Island Peak), Sheep Mountain 9858, Freeman PeakMonument Peak, Peak 9992South Freeman PeakElk Mountain aka Horse Prairie BMPeak 10126 (Clear Creek Peak)Copperhead PeakCopperhead East PeakSacagawea East aka North DoubletSacagawea West aka South DoubletConical TopPeak 9725 (Goldstone West)Peak 9735 (Goldstone North), Mount Carpenter, Copper Mountain and Mount Gilcrest

Boulder Mountains

Griswold PeakBoulder Peak and North Ryan Peak

Lost River Range

Little MacLimestone PeakUSGS PeakMount McCalebNorth TwinSouth TwinTrinity PeakHope PeakWet PeakMountaineer Peak and Gooseberry Peak a.k.a. Mount Darcy

White Clouds

Fourth of July Peak, Ivory Peak, Ebony Peak, Cardiac PeakPeak 10718 (Hourglass Peak), WCP-2, WCP-3, WCP-7, WCP-8 and Peak 10182 (Iron Basin Peak)

Lemhi Range

Buck Lakes Peak, Lem PeakBig Creek Peak, Flatiron Mountain, Tendoy PeakMcNutt Peak, West Rocky Peak and Rocky Peak

Snake River Range

Mount Baird, Baldy Mountain 9835, Elkhorn Peak, and Peak 9722 (Hells Hole Peak a.k.a. Little Elk Peak)

Henrys Lake Range

Belack MountainTarghee Peak and North Targhee Peak

Centennial Mountains

Red Rock Mountain and Mount Jefferson

————————————————

2017 WHAT’S NEW ENTRIES